How to Watch the Matrix Movies in Order

Embarking on the journey through the dystopian world of “The Matrix” is an exhilarating experience that combines action, philosophy, and groundbreaking special effects. This sci-fi franchise, which began with the pivotal film in 1999, has since expanded into a cultural phenomenon that poses profound questions about reality and freedom. For newcomers and fans revisiting the saga, navigating the correct viewing sequence is key to fully appreciate the evolving narrative and the complexities of the Matrix universe.

how to watch the matrix movies in order

Chronological Viewing Order

Dive headfirst into the “Matrix” narrative as it unfolds in the in-universe timeline. This method allows the plot to unfold sequentially, providing clearer story arcs for characters and the expanding lore.

Detailed Steps:

  1. The Animatrix – Begin with “The Animatrix,” a collection of nine animated short films. Pay special attention to “The Second Renaissance Part I and II” as they explain the origins of the Matrix.
  2. The Matrix – Continue with the original movie, “The Matrix,” which introduces viewers to the core characters and the base reality within the Matrix.
  3. The Matrix Reloaded – Progress to “The Matrix Reloaded” for the continuation of Neo’s journey as the One and the deepening conflict with the machines.
  4. The Matrix Revolutions – Follow up with “The Matrix Revolutions” to watch the culmination of the war between humans and machines.
  5. The Matrix Resurrections – Conclude with “The Matrix Resurrections” to witness the latest chapter in the epic saga that revisits past themes and introduces new elements to the story.


This order prioritizes the storyline’s chronological progression, deepening viewer understanding of the overarching themes. The potential downside is a slight disjointedness due to the different mediums (animated vs. live-action) and production years.

Release Order Viewing

Experience “The Matrix” in the original order the content was released. This reflects how audiences first encountered the story, allowing for a natural evolution of special effects and storytelling techniques.

Detailed Steps:

  1. The Matrix (1999) – Start your journey with the groundbreaking first film that introduces the concept of the Matrix and follows Neo’s awakening.
  2. The Matrix Reloaded (2003) – Continue the exploration of the Matrix and the resistance’s fight for freedom.
  3. The Matrix Revolutions (2003) – Proceed immediately with the conclusion of the original trilogy, released in the same year as the second film.
  4. The Animatrix (2003) – After the trilogy, watch “The Animatrix” for greater context and background stories supplementing the events you’ve just seen.
  5. The Matrix Resurrections (2021) – Conclude with the latest installment that revisits and redefines established narratives, characters, and themes.


Following the release order provides a nostalgic and faithful recreation of the original audience experience. The downside is that some prequel information from “The Animatrix” will come later in the viewing sequence.

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in How-To